Will anyone listen to me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will anyone listen to me?

Weird title, but just trying to capture your attention. I'm a relative beginner to music production, and wanted to know if there was a particular forum or somewhere online where people will listen to my music, so I can share a track for feedback.

Someone recommended the Facebook group Dawless Jammin, but my stuff isn't music I can live-jam because I don't have the talent. It's recorded pieces (sometimes with a vocal), that I've built on the Blackbox.

It's less about finding out if it's a 'good track', but more about whether the production needs work. For example, I'm really just a beginner, but can tell that my kicks don't punch through, perhaps it's badly EQ'd, or stuff like that.

I've watched a million YouTube tutorials, but what would be a massive help would be for me to be told what and how a single track could be improved. Appreciate people might not feel like doing that, seeing as they have their own music to make!

Maybe link to some work in progress temporarily? I’m sure people will chime in.

Comment

Michal Ho Thanks, so here's a track I made on the Blackbox, and like I say, just interested to hear in general terms what I could do to improve the production. I'm happy with all the individual parts, but it feels like it could sound a lot better if I knew even the basics of how to mix and whatever. This is the first track I've ever made in this genre, so all advice welcome!

https://soundcloud.com/fade-again/21.../s-XBSXolmiSVM

Comment

Sounds alright to me.
        You might try lowering the levels of your bass instruments just a little and control the dynamics in the mid range more (esp. in the voice), as the high mids and treble range seems a bit overwhelmed by what's going on below 1kHz. But don't overdo it, you'll lose the coziness.

Comment

Originally posted by Michal Ho View Post
          Sounds alright to me.