convince me to bitbox mk2?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• convince me to bitbox mk2?

What is the rationale for the upcoming Bitbox micro to have a couple of really useful features that aren't going to exist in the full bitbox mk2? The Midi out and increased number / flexible assignment of outputs are a huge deal to me.

Why handicap the more expensive unit? Even the leloop youtube comparison tips the scales in favor of the micro version.

I posted this on a facebook eurorack and got one reply "The big one looks to have more total inputs and a quicker workflow." yes, and of course the 75% larger touch screen is very nice. But what else is going to distinguish it from the version 1 and the micro bitbox?

I could be wrong about this because I’m new to 1010 modules but from a video I was just watching the larger one can use 3 firmwares while the micro just the bitbox. I don’t know if this has changed since he made the video but that is a deal breaker against the micro for me personally. The extra outs are sweet on the micro though.
    Last edited by Gregorsmith; 05-21-2020, 09:38 AM.

Comment

The full bitbox 1 can also use all three firmwares. It is weird to me that the "flagship" bitbox 2 should be missing features that the micro has. Unless bitbox mk2 is finally going to be able to hot swap firmware. But that is not a currently existing feature/selling point over the micro or the bitbox 1.

Comment

Thanks for your question. The exact configuration of the hardware is the result of a number of decisions over the past several months. With bitbox MK2, we wanted to build something that was a continuation of the previous line and not lose anything. With the micro, it was the opportunity for a fresh start. It wasn't practical to make the MK2 be a pure superset of the micro in terms of inputs and outputs. Behind the scenes, the IO sections are quite different.