Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recording and playback at the same time?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording and playback at the same time?

This might be a stupid question...but since I'm relatively new to the digital domain - is it possible to play back samples and record to bitbox at the same time?

Hello.

Yes you can record and play samples at the same time on bitbox.

Let us know if you have further questions.

Aaron

Comment

You mean... I can use all but one sample slot for playback and at the same time record the session?

Comment

yes, but you cannot manipulate anything on the bitbox itself during recording..if this is what you mean?

Comment

Originally posted by pascalm View Post
          yes, but you cannot manipulate anything on the bitbox itself during recording..if this is what you mean?
          Well since the display is used by the record function I can't change samples or such, makes total sense. But the playback continues while it's recording, right?
          I guess 'record monitor' has to be off since else I'd hear my performance double...which, with the inevitable latency, might sound interesting? Probably not...

Comment

playback continues indeed, so you could manipulate whatever you want externally (filters, effects,bitcrushers,...) and record this manipulation back into the bitbox
            monitoring should be off, otherwise you are creating a simple audio feedback loop that is going to rrrrrrring your ears

Comment

Seriously...this module is INSANE!

Comment

yes, indeed, i am planning to buy a second one
                just keep in mind that it consumes some energy, so you need to check the power supply in your rack, each module needs 350mA on the +12V rail

Comment

Good point about power consumption. I'm running 2 Doepfer PSU3.

Interesting factoid; the Roland Demora / Torcido / whatever modules take 450mA !

Comment

PSU3 delivers 2000mA on 12V I think, you should be on the safe side