Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using a Blackbox with a Midifighter.

Greetings from Norway!

I want to play clips on the Blackbox from the Midifighter 3D ( and the Spectre and the original one ) as i love playing with arcade buttons instead of a touchscreen or any other controller.

But the problem is the blackbox defaults to note c2 and upwards and the midi fighter from c1 ( standard in ableton and other programs )

For me they are a perfect match for what i want to do if it was possible without messy devices in between...

peace,

Inge

I'm fairly sure you can reprogram the MF3D to play any note you want. No?

Comment

No... not from the utility program. Maybe there is a way to change the scripting of the unit but i'm no programmer...

I have asked on the techtools forum but no reply yet...

Comment

Sadly you need to - and I'm not joking - compile a new firmware.
        If you know some C, go nuts: https://github.com/danielytics/Midif.../DJTT%20Latest
        I'll probably give it a go soon(ish).

Comment

Thank you for your reply! Ill have to research that path... have some sons in the house that know a bit C so maybe... or just make a new arcade button midi device from scratch... With an arduino uno... its just a shame that those midifighters are so perfect in all other ways.. and I have 3 button ones and 1 twister..

Comment

Originally posted by engelen View Post
            No... not from the utility program.
            HI

Just curious if you have downloaded the latest version of the MIDI Fighter utility? Looking at their documentation it seems that the utility IS the recommended way to update firmware, etc. It also looks like (according to the manual) Bank 1 defaults to the exact MIDI note #'s you need to trigger Blackbox Pads. I do not have an MFP so I am unable to test.

The ReadMe.txt file on Github also recommends using the utility to update and configure. Let us know if you are able to get this working.

Thanks

Steve

Comment