Boss RC-3 Loop Station and Blackbox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boss RC-3 Loop Station and Blackbox

Hi all, I’m primarily a guitarist but I’ve just purchased a new Blackbox I’m also interested in getting a Boss RC-3 Loop Station for recording samples of electric guitar. Has anyone ever transferred guitar recordings from a Boss RC-3 to something like the Blackbox? I also like the idea of transferring beats and samples from the BB to the Boss. Is there any reason why this shouldn’t work? The aux in jack on the Boss is also handy for sending stuff from my PO-33 KO! Previously I was thinking of getting a Strymon Iridium or helix stomp to slap at the end of my pedal chain to record direct into BB but that just seemed an expensive option. Any help or tips greatly appreciated!

You could just route your RC-3 to the input of the BB to record it. It can do quantized recordings, say one bar, and play it back after the loop finished. Overdubbing is quite limited due to the fact that you always have to pick an empty pad for the next layer. So for looping it's great, live overdubbing is a bit complicated. I use a guitar looper to create a nice part then live loop/record it into the BB. Let the BB take over the main playback an create a new part with the guitar looper. But the fun part begins when I add extra sounds over the BB.

Comment

Drantum thank you for your response would I still need to use a preamp or amp cab simulator if I went straight from the rc-3 to BB? I do have own a line 6 AMPLIFi that has basic amp modelling that I could use.

Comment

• Drantum
        Drantum commented
        Editing a comment