Holy moly, help this man!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Holy moly, help this man!

This may well be a ridiculous difficult post to answer, but I'm going to write it anyway.

I'm a guitarist (not a very good one) but was totally seduced by the BB so recently bought one. I love it, and all the possibilities it offers.

But having never used this sort of thing to make music, I don't know how best to approach it. I'm trying to avoid just recording guitar into it, and want to use it as a stand-alone piece of kit.

For example, I'm a fan of music by people like Boards of Canada, Four Tet and that kind of electronica, but also a huge fan of the drone stuff that you can hear in Labradford, Godspeed You Black Emperor and Burial. And then also the glitchy side of Radiohead/Thom Yorke. A million other things too, but that's maybe enough to give an indication of where I want to aim.

So in these times of lockdown, can anyone give any advice on a good task to start me off with? I feel a bit crippled by all the options, and also am not too interested in making a banging beat. Think I'd like to make something with trails and drones and a sense of the world collapsing. Oh wait, I've got the last one covered, so just help of the other two would be good.

Any tutorials in these shut-in times very welcome!

Thanks!

No idea if the following will sound any good or not I wrote it down as I thought it.

Maybe try recording single guitar notes that make up an interesting chord on different pads. Double them up and detune them a little (like a synth). Use the granular setting to change their texture. and pitch (slowing them down is a good start) Have the notes playing on different length loops while sending them to the delay (longish feedback) . Resample a long loop of it and you might have a nice texture in which to build on. Send the long loop out to some other effects you might have and see if that adds anything more.