Minibrute 2 and Blackbox how do I combine the two together

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minibrute 2 and Blackbox how do I combine the two together

Hi all, I appreciate that this may seem vague and long winded. Out of curiosity and lockdown boredom I ended up buying an Arturia Minibrute 2 synth and now want connect up my Blackbox to use drum samples etc, how do I go about doing this?
    I’m a complete newbie to synths and to be honest I am still getting to grips with the bb. What do I need to do to connect these two together? Do I need a separate mixer? I also play guitar and was thinking of using the reverbs and delays from my helix stomp. I’ll be using headphones beyerdynamic DT880 (250ohm) I don’t currently have any studio monitor speakers but will be adding these at some point. Any tips/help will be greatly appreciated.

Lots of ways to approach this and others may have a different approach. So hopefully something will 'click' as to how to go about achieving what you want.

You could simply send midi to the MB2 to trigger notes if the keyboard version or send clock to it if the sequencer version.
    The output of the MB2 could be sent to the inout on the BB. Turn on monitoring to hear the synth. You could then sample the synth and use the BB onboard reverb and delay.

Alternatively you can always insert the stomp effects between the MB2 and the BB. You'll need the right cables to do this. Output of the MB2 to the FX and the on to the input of the BB.

You could get a mixer and connect the outputs of the BB and MB2 to the mixer. From the mixer use a send to the stomp box. You could then send the both the BB and MB to the stomp pedal. I currently do this with a Zoom CDR70. 2 synths and the BB connected to a mixer with a send effect to the CDR70.

Or finally, use one of the separate outputs of the BB to the Stomp FX.. Stomp FX routed to the input of the BB.