What mixer/recorder can I use with my Blackbox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What mixer/recorder can I use with my Blackbox

Hiya Folks what a great forum!, I have just got a Blackbox and want to build a simple portable dawless setup. I am a complete novice so am in need of some advice, I intend to get a Dreadbox typhon and a Uno synth, with the Blackbox as midi controller and sampler, so I figure I will need to mix the 3 outputs(maybe more than 3) in a mixer of some kind, and i also need to record the result. I have looked at the Bluebox, but it does seem overly complicated(and pricey) considering my simple needs. Should I bite the bullet and get a Bluebox(when they are in stock) or are there more suitable/simple alternatives. I mean what were Blackbox owners using before the Bluebox became available? I am assuming that some of you are using your Blackbox in a similar way to me. Anyway thanks for looking, and hopefully some interesting replies.

I’m a novice as well and have a similar setup. I have a synth and a drum machine feeding into a little behringer mixer and the mixer output feeds into my blackbox. I record everything into the blackbox as samples. When I’m ready to record a track i just use the resample function on the blackbox. That’s good enough for now and means my setup stays super compact.

Comment

In the ultra-compact mixers market, the Bluebox hasn’t really got competition right now except maybe the Roland Go mixer series or Zoom F or H recorders series.

So I think the alternative if you really want to stay compact would be to get a « mobile sound card » like some made by IK Multimedia and record with your mobile or tablet (preferably Apple for audio apps). But it’s already quite an investment and you also need to bring your phone/tablet in the setup.