Help identifying samples?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help identifying samples?

I'm trying to deconstruct this track but have very limited knowledge of instruments and don't know what some of the sounds are. I'm not looking to make an exact copy, just fancy doing a cover.

What I'm particularly keen to find out is the instrument at 02m26s, though any advice on how to recreate other parts of it would be great! For example, at 0:06, is that just tapping on a glass bottle, or a specific instrument?

Sounds like a slow release SAW with resonance other than that cant say. Do you have a VST or hard synth you can experiment on ??

Comment

Originally posted by Chuzzz View Post
      Sounds like a slow release SAW with resonance other than that cant say. Do you have a VST or hard synth you can experiment on ??
      I'm pretty new to this, so only have basic knowledge. When you say a VST or hard synth, what do you mean? I have various VSTs I've picked randomly, but what would you recommend for experimentation?

Thanks for replying, by the way!

Comment

Originally posted by jonnnnny View Post

I have various VSTs I've picked randomly
        I've checked and I have Helm - will that do the job?

Comment

Yer can give it a try Jonnnnny a saw is a saw and most synths have resonance bit of experimentation and yer never know may come up with something better

Comment

The best free softsynth around is Vital. It can easily reproduce any sound from that video. And you can make plenty of samples for your Blackbox. Simply record all the stuff you make while figuring out how the synth works. This may take some time since it's a feature monster. But it's fun.

https://vital.audio/

Comment